Adams Telephone Co-Operative holds 69th Annual Meeting of Members

Golden, IL— Adams Telephone Co-Operative held its 69th Annual Meeting of Members on September 15, 2021. The meeting was held virtually and the first of its kind for the Cooperative.

Jim Broemmer, CEO, noted, “This virtual meeting is a result of the pandemic, which has changed many aspects of our lives. Last March, we closed our offices to the public and we quickly began shifting employees to protect customers and staff. We continued to operate with minimal onsite staff, with the majority working at home. Of course, this was not possible for many staff positions. Working onsite or at home, we continued to provide our members and customers with the same level of service they have depended on for over 69 years.”

Nearly 160 members attended the Zoom meeting. The night included a business meeting and drawing for a $250 cash pre-registration prize. It was announced that each active membership will receive a $50 bill credit in the month of October.

During the business meeting, members were updated about Adams’ operations including its ongoing growth to be best prepared for any future challenges and its focus on consumer education and services.

Directors were elected by acclamation according to the bylaws. Matt Dearwester, representing the Coatsburg/Paloma & Mendon exchanges, and Jeff Phelps, representing the Plymouth Exchange, were re-elected to the Board of Directors carried over from the 2020 elections. Daron Duke, representing the Lima and Loraine exchanges, was re-elected and Tracy Drake Lawson was newly elected to represent the Chambersburg, Fishhook & Hersman exchanges for the 2021 slate.

Bill Scranton, who retired from the Board of Directors, was recognized for his 31 years of outstanding and dedicated service to Adams as the Director for the Chambersburg, Fishhook & Hersman exchanges.

The meeting closed with the membership approving the 2019 Meeting Minutes, 2019 & 2020 Financials and no new business brought forward by the membership.

Pictured: Back row (l to r) – Jeff Phelps, Richard Denny, Tracy Drake Lawson, and Matthew Dearwester.
Front row (l to r) – Scott Wray, Daron Duke, and Robert Leenerts.

Written by Bridgette Northern