Adams Telephone Co-Operative Holds 71st Annual Meeting of Members

Golden, IL— Adams Telephone Co-Operative held its 71st Annual Meeting of Members on September 13, 2023, at their Cooperative headquarters in Golden. Approximately 550 people were in attendance for the evening’s festivities. The night included a meal prepared by the Mendon Lions, a business meeting, and drawings for cash prizes and bill credits.

At the business meeting, members were updated about Adams’ operations and re-elected Matt Dearwester to represent the Coatsburg-Paloma and Mendon exchanges and Jeff Phelps to represent the Plymouth exchange. Members were also informed of a major Cooperative milestone.

Jim Broemmer, CEO, shared, “With our focus to build scale for our long-term viability, it is exciting to celebrate the remarkable achievement of reaching 20,000 broadband customers in July. We aren’t just acknowledging numbers; we’re celebrating relationships. Every member and customer represent a story, a connection, a friendship formed through trust. This milestone reflects not just our growth, but the trust that our customers place in us to meet their needs. Our journey to 20,000 isn’t just a testament to our reach, but to the friendships we’ve cultivated, and I want to make it clear, our growth is not done yet!”

Broemmer also noted, “In a world driven by connectivity, our existing fiber networks are the backbone of our operations. Like a well-woven tapestry, these networks have carried our aspirations, our innovations, and our commitments. Building on this foundation, we are leveraging these networks to unlock a world of possibilities – from bridging gaps in connectivity to opening doors for innovation that will shape our future. Speaking of building on existing fiber networks, we continue to evaluate the grant programs available today and coming soon from our state and federal government agencies that would build off our existing network into new rural areas.”

Members received product knowledge at multiple displays regarding Arlo Secure connected camera services, Fiber Gaming Network, and Smart Rural Communities. Members also enjoyed lots of fun family activities and games provided by Quincy Children’s Museum. 

Pictured Back Row (l to r): Jim Broemmer, Chief Executive Officer; Richard Denny, Director District 1; Robert Leenerts, Director District 4; Tracy Lawson, Director District 2; Matt Dearwester, Director District 3; and Chip Owens, Attorney.
Pictured Front Row (l to r): Scott Wray, Vice President District 6; Daron Duke, President District 5; and Jeff Phelps, Secretary/Treasurer District 7.

Written by Lori Miller